My Life, Captured

All Eyes on You January 24, 2011

Filed under: Musings — Melissa @ 2:08 pm

Recently I ran into a friend who asked me how our church’s search for land was going.  My mind flashed through the dozens of leads we’ve exhausted in our search for a permanent place to build our church.  I told her that we have no current leads, that we are waiting on the Lord.  We know that He has a plan for this church and that we just need to patiently wait on Him to show us that plan.  I was reminded, as I have been frequently lately, of a passage in 2 Chronicles 20.  Jehoshaphat, with all of Judah, was facing a huge enemy army and certain defeat.  Having nowhere to run, Jehoshaphat cries out to the LORD and in verse 12 says, “For we have no power to face this vast army that is attacking us.  We do not know what to do, but our eyes are upon you.

There are many instances in my life – in parenting, in ministry, in marriage… – when I just don’t know what to do.  I’m not sure which way to go, what move to make next.  That’s when God patiently reminds me that I need only to set my eyes on Him.  Proverbs 3:5-6 tell me to “trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.”  He will make my paths straight when I keep my eyes on, and place my full trust in Him.

The account in 2 Chronicles 20 goes on to tell us that God caused Judah’s enemy armies to fight against each other, completely destroying one another.  Judah didn’t have to lift a finger – the Lord fought their battle for them.  As I read that I am filled with hope because all through that account, God whispers His faithfulness.  When my eyes are on the Lord, and my trust is in Him alone, He fights my battles also – I’ve seen Him do it over and over again in my life.  He tells me, just as He did the Israelites when they were cornered by the Egyptian army against the Red Sea, “The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.”  (Exodus 14:14) 

So today, Lord, help me be still, fixing my eyes squarely on You, trusting You to fight for me.

 

Leave a Reply

